Throwback!

(forgot to post yesterday, whatever, this week’s been hell.)

Let me tell you about the time my best friend, Lacee, and I (and my mom) went to Ocean City, Maryland. First you should know that my mom coming was not part of the plan. It was supposed to be Lacee, Me, her boyfriend at the time, and Philip. It was going to be our big senior trip before we went off to college.

Philip and I were still seeing each other but were technically not exclusive at the time (we had went through that whole senior year/college transitional stage of “should we see other people?”) and his grandparents told him at the last minute (literally the day before) that he couldn’t go because ‘they didn’t think it was a good idea’. Translation: I thought you were done with this girl. You’re not getting involved with her again. Which really sucked because he was the one who was driving us, in his car. Then Lacee’s boyfriend finds out that his vacation request didn’t get approved that same day. Oh well, we thought, girls trip!

Well, that wasn’t okay with our parents, who didn’t like the idea of two young girls alone on vacation. I’d like to take this moment to point out how awesome our parents were that they were cool with us going on vacation with our boyfriends, but not alone because they were concerned for our safety. So my mom volunteered. And honestly? We kinda thought that her coming along would make the whole trip a drag, but if anything it enhanced the experience. How many 18 year olds can say they got drunk on strawberry daiquiris drinking with their mom and passed out all day in a hotel room? Yeah, sometimes my mom is pretty cool.

Anyways, I look back on this trip bittersweetly because, just two months before I conceived Sophia, it kind of feels like my last moment of immature adolescence (give or take a few college frat parties that fall). We were stupid, loud, and inappropriate. (Note: me, motorboating the statue of the world’s largest woman in Ripley’s Believe it or Not museum) But… we were young enough to get away with it. 😉

Leave a comment